Loading data.. please wait!
Offline version


Nomenclature of Territorial Units for Statistical Purposes

An ordered list of names of territorial units and their associated territorial symbols occurring at different levels of territorial division of the country, used in the process of collecting statistical data, storage and processing of the collected data as well as announcement, dissemination and popularization of results of statistical surveys in territorial breakdowns.

The NTS classification is based on the three-tier division of the country into voivodships, powiats and gminas, on the basis of which two additional non-administrative levels were established i.e. regions and subregions.

Overall, the NTS classification divides Poland into hierarchically tied territorial units on 5 levels, of which 3 are defined as regional ones and 2 – as local ones.

Regional levels include:

Level 1 - regions (6 units - grouping voivodships),

Level 2 – voivodships (16 units),

Level 3 - subregions (66 units - grouping powiats).

Local levels include:

Level 4 - powiats and cities with powiat status (314 + 65 units),

Level 5 – gminas (2479 units), of which urban gminas being cities with powiat status (65 units).

The number of units at each level is given as of 1 January 2010. The structure of groupings of NTS units, their symbols and script is based on a system of identifiers and names of units of territorial division of the country, which is part of the National Official Register of Territorial Division of the Country - TERYT.

Icon deselect
Statistics Poland